Black and White Food – Sushi

Day 18 in the 2016 VeganMoFo: Greyscale – Can you make your food look like a photo taken with a black and white camera? Or take a photo in black and white that looks great.

This is a tricky one, I thought about a cheesecake made will Oreos but didn’t fancy that. Then I thought of black pasta, but I think they use squid ink or something horrible to colour it. Then I rememebered sushi!

Making sushi is easier than it looks. It helps to have the right stuff. You can buy pre-toasted nori now. I mine with sticky rice, pickled ginger, arame (seaweed), cucumber, spring onions and avocado and served them with tamari and wasabi sauce! Pokey! I do recommend buying a sushi mat, they are only around two quid and make it all a lot easier! Also what helped was using a Japanese ceramic knife to cut the slices – it’s the sharpest knife I’ve ever used and it cuts through the rolls like non-hydrogentated vegetable margarine (I don’t eat butter). Watch your fingers!

broccoli2016

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black and White Food – Sushi

  1. Jenny says:

    Great photos! I also thought that about black pasta – it looks so dramatic, but I’m pretty sure every version I’ve seen in shops is non-vegan. I enjoy making sushi, but at the moment we just don’t have any good knives, so the rolls get kind of mangled when I try to slice them. At least they still taste good, even if they’re not to photogenic!

  2. Pingback: Week Three Round Up 2016 | VeganMoFo

Leave a comment