Homemade vegan pesto

broccoli2016

Day three in the 2016 VeganMoFo! The theme today is Treat yourself…to a break – What’s your ‘easy cook’ meal? That you make when you can’t be bothered to cook much?

I make pesto, that’s my ‘easy cook’ meal, and homemade always tastes loads better than the stuff you buy in jars and it is loads cheaper!

It is autumn in the UK and the basil in the garden is living on borrowed time. As Morrissey once said;

The dark nights are drawing in. And your humour is as black as them. I look at yours, you laugh at mine. And “love” is just a miserable lie.

So I make pesto. I picked a handful of basil (you can also use rocket/arugula). I had some pine nuts, which I quickly toasted in a pan for a couple of minutes, and a few walnuts, so I chucked them in along with some garlic and some very nice olive oil (Torres Silencio – Arbequina olive oil) that was a birthday present!  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Just whizz it up in the blender and mix it into some pasta (I like the frilly Garofalo Mafalda Corta pasta) but any pasta you have is OK. Sprinkle a bit of Angel Food dairy-free parmesan on top to make it extra special. Quick, easy and super tasty – comfort food!  

IMG_8732.JPG

Here’s some I made back in the summer with wild garlic and asparagus.

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade vegan pesto

  1. Jenny says:

    Looks lovely! I always think of homemade pesto as quite an effort, so I’m impressed that it’s your lazy meal.

Leave a Reply

