Vegan Egg OMFG

As if Aqua faba wasn’t enough, now there’s a vegan egg! Oh lordy, what next? It’s well over a decade since I ate an egg. I have to confess, chicken abortion comments aside, I was a fan. I never liked meat – all that gristle and tubes! However, I liked an egg butty with dollops of ketchup. Since discovering black salt (Kala namak) I’ve been making a pretty passable vegan egg mayo sarnie. Now this!

It’s a bit pricey – around £7 a box which contains the equivalent of 12 eggs. To make classic scrambled egg you add 115ml of ice-cold water to 2 tbsp of the Vegan egg powder and whisk with a balloon whisk. Then fry in a pan, scramble it about a bit for a few minutes then pile it upon hot toast. Voilà!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was the eggiest thing I’ve tasted in years in terms of texture, it tasted eggy too but you could add a bit more black salt if you want the real eggy pong.

So what is this alchemy? It’s made from algae! Very clever.

Spanish omelette next I reckon…

 

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

