Vegan Mayo

More adventures with aquafaba today! I remember back in April, Goose Wohlt (aquafaba meister) experimenting with mayonnaise with success here. Well the other day I ran out of Plamil mayo and decided to have a go. I followed the excellent recipe from Peanut Butter & Vegan and it worked! Yes, I did a happy dance!!

I made it again today and tweaked the recipe a bit. Here’s what I did…

Get all the ingredients together:IMG_6377

  • 1-2 tsp cider vinegar
  • 1 small packet English mustard (I always pocket one of these in cafés or restaurants for just such reasons!)
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp. aquafaba
  • 1 tsp Vegg (if you don’t have this you can use ½ tsp black salt (Kala namak) instead of regular salt)
  • ¾ cup of rapeseed (canola) oil

Mix all the ingredients except the oil in a large glass bowl with a hand-held blender. This won’t take long…

Then slowly dribble the oil in, bit by bit, mixing all the time…

It will suddenly thicken!

Keep going until all the oil has been blended into the mayonnaise then transfer into a glass jar.

Make an ‘egg’ sandwich! Spend the rest of the day doing ‘eggy’ burps…

IMG_6414

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vegan Mayo

  1. narf77 says:

    Looks like the real deal to me. Does it separate on sitting in the fridge?

  2. JustBloggs says:

    Not so far… I am very impressed I have to say!

  3. Pingback: Aquafaba | justbloggs vegan

  4. A. Hope says:

    Heya! How much mustard is in the little packet? Mustard’s provided in bottles over here, and I’m useless at guessing weights and such! I’m going to guess maybe 25 g though?

    • JustBloggs says:

      I reckon it’s about 1 tsp… Peanut Butter & Vegan use 1/2 tsp of (dry) ground mustard instead and the packet stuff has added water. It’s kind of up to your taste too though. Good luck!

  5. Pingback: Black Salt Magic! | justbloggs vegan

Leave a Reply

