Vegan Chocolate Mousse

I’ve been making vegan chocolate mousse for years but it usually tends to be quite heavy and dense with a big, rich chocolate kick in the arse. You have to dig the spoon in, my fella says it’s like a pot of truffles – not always what you want for dessert. I remember as a kid, chocolate mousse was light and fluffy with tiny bubbles of air running throughout it. Well bring on the aquafaba – this is exactly what I made!

No baby chicks were harmed in the production of this mousse!

IMG_6243

Light, fluffy and creamy with a strong but not overwhelming chocolate kick. This aquafaba stuff is revolutionising vegan cooking – there are no limits! I reckon I might try choux pastry next…

Ingredients

Makes 6 small glasses with  some leftover for Ron! Or six big glasses…

  • 200g dark chocolate (I used two bars of Seed & Bean Extra Dark Chocolate currently on sale here)
  • ½ cup of coconut cream (nearly a whole small tin from here)
  •  1 cup aquafaba (the liquid strained from a can of chick peas)
  • ½ cup caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • A pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Melt the chocolate and coconut cream together in a glass bowl over a pan of boiling water
  2. Remove from heat and stand the bowl on the side to cool. If the chocolate splits and you get dark clumpy chocolate and clear fat, add a small amount of water (a few teaspoonfuls) and stir – it will go creamy again.
  3. Whisk the aquafaba in a clean glass bowl with a balloon whisk until stiff peaks form.
  4. Then slowly add the caster sugar whisking all the time.
  5. When the chocolate has cooled a bit gently fold it into the aquafaba with the vanilla extract and salt, stir gently – you don’t want it to collapse.
  6. Transfer into glasses or small coffee cups and chill in the fridge for at least 4-6 hours.
  7. Serve with boozy fruit!
This entry was posted in Cakes, tarts, desserts & sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Vegan Chocolate Mousse

  1. This looks so perfect, I used to love chocolate mousse but I haven’t had many great ones since going vegan. I can’t believe the aquafaba trend hit just after I packed up to go travelling and I STILL haven’t been able to try it!

  2. JustBloggs says:

    Hope you get to try it soon! Happy travels!

  3. Juz says:

    Just made this – yum! Thank you for the recipe.

  4. JustBloggs says:

    You are very welcome!

  5. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Mousse Using Aquafaba!

  6. YESSSSS. This looks easy and awesome! I can’t wait to try it! One question though : does it taste very coconut-y (from the coconut cream)? Thanks!
    http://peanutbutterandle.wordpress.com

    • JustBloggs says:

      Thank you! It is easy and awesome! I am loving the whole new world of foods aquafaba has made possible! I didn’t think the mousse tasted too much of coconut but I did use very good quality chocolate that was pretty strong – I reckon you could use soya cream – I intend to try it sometime soon…

      • Awesome, thanks! Maybe I could just use more chocolate to cover up the coconut? Mmmm chocolate. I am loving aquafaba too! I am excited to experiment with it more, and I have a few aquafaba experiments I’m working on right now! xx

  7. Miny says:

    Justine, this is absolutely delicious and tastes just like any other chocolate mousse😊thanks for the recipe!

  8. Frances McCormack says:

    This worked beautifully. Loved it. 🙂

  9. rachel mccormack says:

    Is it possible to use cocunut milk instead of cream? Can’t get coconut cream in my small town in the south of Italy!

    • JustBloggs says:

      I would think so Rachel, especially if you leave the tin of coconut milk in the fridge overnight and used the thicker creamy bit at the top. Please let me know how it goes!

  10. Pingback: 20 Amazing Ways To Use Bean Juice | Care2 Healthy Living

  11. Pingback: 23 Amazing Ways to Use Bean Juice -

  12. Natalie says:

    Really delicious – better than the last aquafaba mousse recipe I tried – thank you (it fooled everyone)! I used the cream from a tin of coconut milk and that worked perfectly. Looking forward to scoffing the leftovers this evening!

  13. Pingback: Aqua faba – the story so far | justbloggs vegan

  14. Pingback: No Gods, No Masterchef | justbloggs vegan

Leave a Reply

