Spinach & Ricotta Cannelloni Vegan Stylee

I was given a sample of a new mozzarella style cheese to try. It’s called Creamy Risella and OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAis made in Italy from rice, so OK for vegans and those with soya allergy. It was quite creamy and nice on a cracker with freshly ground black pepper. I also decided to try cooking with it. As I thought it was more like ricotta than mozzarella I decided to stuff some cannelloni with it and some spinach. This is so easy! First make a thick tomato sauce. You can do this from scratch with fresh tomatoes, garlic, herbs and a splosh of wine or cheat and use a can of chopped with all the above. Reduce the sauce over heat until nice and thick. Set aside while you prepare the cannelloni.

Chop and fry an onion then chop and lightly steam half a bag of spinach with a generous pinch of freshly ground nutmeg and pepper and set aside. Mix the onion, spinach and cheese (I added a little crumbled plain tofu as I didn’t have much cheese). Stuff your cannelloni tubes (I do this with a small spoon and my fingers – a messy job but fun!) and put them in the sauce in a baking dish; the tops of the tubes should remain exposed… Make a white sauce and pour over the tubes. Bake at 180° for 20-30 mins until the sauce is browning. Serve with a leafy green salad.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA It was pretty good and I would use this again!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spinach & Ricotta Cannelloni Vegan Stylee

  1. Wow, rice ricotta that’s what I need, another one to go on the list from the uk! Yes I cannot eat soya as its bad for my thyroid but I am looking forward to eating rice cheese. Thanks.

  2. CreamyRisella is meant to be a substitute for Italian spreadable cheese stracchino (aka crescenza). For something more similar to mozzarella you should try MozzaRisella 🙂

  3. JustBloggs says:

    Ah OK thanks!! I think my hungry colleagues may have had all of that one!

Leave a Reply

