Christmassy Birthday Cakes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My friend Ruth’s birthday falls just before Christmas and this year she threw a splendid party in an amazing venue hired for the night. She cooked curry for 22 people (including a delicious vegan chicken patia) and we had a choice of desserts including a fantastic vegan treacle tart. I took along some cakes as has become expected these days when it’s a birthday celebration! These cupcakes had a Christmassy flavour to them which came from the big dollop of homemade mincemeat added to the vanilla cupcake mix prior to baking. I have a huge boozy jar of mincemeat that my friend Rhiannon gave me and I been making mince pies every few days over the hols! The frosting was heavily laced with brandy too to add a bit more oomph! Maybe I should have mentioned that as the kids tucked into them…

Image | This entry was posted in Cakes, tarts, desserts & sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

