Cheap Bastard Soup II

I had my son and his girlfriend over for Sunday roast this weekend just gone. We couldn’t finish all the food and I was left with some Brussels’ sprouts, carrots (cooked in orange juice), chestnuts and parsnips. The obvious meal for this lot is cheap bastard soup! I chopped and onion and fried it in a splosh of olive oil then added all the veggies and some red lentils. I topped it up with stock and let it simmer for 20 mins then added ½ a teaspoon of ground cumin and blended it with a handheld whizzer. It turned out even nicer than I had expected – a top winter warmer and leftovers always taste great!

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

