Rum and Raisin Cupcakes

I’ve got my cupcake mojo back thanks to my son! It was his 25th birthday yesterday and I made him rum and raisin cakes. I soaked the raisin in Morgan’s Spiced rum for an hour before using them and made the  cakes with ndali vanilla extract, rum-soaked raisins and mixed spice (mace, cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon). The frosting had rum in it too and a smidge of violet colouring mixed through it. I topped the cakes with Chocovered Raisins. It was great to see how excited my son and his girlfriend were when we arrived with a big box full of cakes for them – that’s what it’s all about!

 

 

This entry was posted in Cakes, tarts, desserts & sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

