Italy, Orange Drink and Stuff

I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time to blog. I went to Italy to see Patti Smith – she was phenomenal! Check her out here! She made this girl’s night! She played in a beautiful venue called the Vittoriale Teatro. It’s an amphitheatre overlooking a fantastic panoramic view of lake Garda. Pretty damn amazing!

I had some nice food in Italy; pasta with garlic, olive oil and chilli – that was pretty tasty and hot! I had pasta and mixed roasted vegetables, nice too and lots of salads.

The real coup was discovering a new drink – Aperol! I saw lots of local people (women and men) drinking big glasses full of bright orange drink. It bought to mind that song by the wonderful late Poly Styrene and X-Ray Spex – The Day the World Turned Day-Glo!

I was given a free sample in my favourite restaurant and that was me hooked. I even managed to get a bottle of it to bring home and I’ve been introducing my friends to it. It’s an Italian aperitif produced by the Campari company. Its ingredients include bitter orange, gentian, rhubarb, and cinchona. A most unusual taste – great in an Aperol Spritz:

  • 3 parts Prosecco
  • 2 parts Aperol
  • 1 splash of soda
  • Ice
  • A slice of orange

Cin cin!

This entry was posted in Essays, letters and comments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

