Cupcake Rut

I went to see a band called the Handsome Family a couple of years ago. The band was formed in 1993 by husband-and-wife duo Brett and Rennie Sparks along with drummer Mike Werner. In between songs, Rennie chats to the audience, recalling odd and interesting stories and fighting with Brett. At this gig she said that she had tried to write a love song but by the fourth line, there was a human skull.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What’s that got to do with cupcakes? Well, everytime I try to make grown-up cupcakes they end up brightly coloured and covered in glitter and sweets. I just can’t seem to make grown-up cupcakes! I made these for my friend’s 50th Birthday – luckily he likes cupcakes and wasn’t offended at the pink glitter! Well that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

This entry was posted in Cakes, tarts, desserts & sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

