Bean Balls to You!

As part of my austerity drive this week I made bean balls instead of buying readymade faux meatballs. I mixed cooked continental lentils (leftover from yesterday’s stuffed peppers), with a tin of red kidney beans, red onion, tomato puree, soya sauce, veggie Worcester sauce, breadcrumbs, freshly ground pepper, garlic, celery salt and balsamic vinegar with a liberal sprinkling of chopped fresh rosemary from the garden. I blitzed the mixture in a blender. The mix came out quite well and it was easy to make golf ball sized ‘meatballs’ which I baked in the oven for 20 minutes.

I have a busy day planned tomorrow with an interview in the morning and a friend’s business launch party in the evening (I might make cakes!) but I am determined to come up with another cheapie meal. We spend too much money on food in the UK I reckon. Some people never cook anything from scratch. I do quite well I think but I have got a bit lazy, never soaking pulses, I tend to buy them ready-cooked in tins. It is so much cheaper to buy dried chick peas for example and soak them overnight then cook them up for a Moroccan tagine, hummus, Chick Pea curry or a host of other tasty delights. I’ll have to put my mind to tomorrow’s dinner now, which will be hard as I am watching Alien 3. Again.

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bean Balls to You!

  1. Pingback: Bean Balls and Crushed Potatoes | justbloggs

  2. Pingback: Spaghetti and meatballs | justbloggs

Leave a Reply

