Starry Night Cauliflower and Mushroom Pie

I am a great believer in using up leftovers. So when I’m thinking of what to cook, I usually start off by thinking what needs using up? Yesterday I had half a cauliflower and a box of mushrooms. Other than a curry, that left me a bit stumped so I reached for Veganomicon; an inventive book of recipes by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero. There was my perfect recipe: Cauliflower and Mushroom Potpie with Black Olive Crust. It’s a fairly simple pie with cauliflower, leeks, carrots and mushrooms cooked in a white sauce topped with almost biscuity pastry diamonds. We were all very hungry in my house last night so I added a can of butter beans to make it a little more hearty! I didn’t have any black olives for the topping so I used fresh thyme to add some flavour. It came out bloody fantastic! We ate it with some purple sprouting brocolli which was so fresh it almost tasted sweet! Today my son and I finished it off for lunch with some mixed leaf salad.

This Potpie was just the ticket for a cold miserable evening like last night. Although the sight of Venus and Jupiter  looking so bright in the night sky cheered me up! Today is the first day of spring – let’s hope it warms up soon!

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

