Onion Tart

This was my first attempt at making an onion tart. I blind-baked a shortcrust pastry base while I thinly sliced four medium white onions and gently cooked them on a medium heat. Just sweat them until they became translucent, you don’t want them to change colour. I added a small pinch of freshly grated nutmeg and some ground black pepper. I fried some chopped vegan bacon and added it to the onions then transferred this mix into the pastry case. Then I blended a whole block of plain tofu with a large  of soya milk to make a creamy consistency. This was seasoned to taste and I added a pinch of oregano for flavour. I topped the tart off with the tofu mix and baked at 180°C for 20 minutes or so until the top began to brown. It came out quite well – I can’t taste much as I have a stinking cold but the others who ate it said it was nice. Next time, I think I’ll mix the onions, bacon and tofu together before cooking, it might improve it I reckon.

 

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

