Sweet and Sour Tofu Stir-Fry

I didn’t have any pineapple but really fancied some sweet and sour sauce on my stir-fry so I made up a sauce using stuff in the cupboard… I finely chopped a red onion and fried it in some toasted sesame seed oil with a couple of teaspoons of brown sugar until it began to caramelise.  While it was cooking I grated some fresh ginger into the pan and a finely chopped clove of garlic. Then I added a large splosh of mirin (Japanese rice wine), dark soya sauce, a small splash of white wine vinegar, a couple of tablespoons of sweet chilli sauce and a spoon of marmalade (yes – really!). Then I gave it all a quick whizz with a hand blender to blend the onion and ginger into a smooth sauce. Then I thickened it with cornflour (avoid lumps by blending the flour into a small glass of water before adding). You can adjust the sauce to suit your taste by adding more or less of anything you fancy! This worked very well and transformed a simple tofu stir-fry into a tasty sweet and sour supper with vegan prawn crackers too! Yum!

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

