Meatballs. What Do You Mean Funny? Funny How?

I’ve been thinking about vegan meatballs! I’ve been fancying a supper of ‘meatballs’, tomato sauce and spaghetti for a while so I was really excited to find a great looking recipe in the brilliant cookbook Appetite for Reduction. The recipe involves mashing black-eyed beans with steamed tempeh and loads of other goodies including: garlic, herbs, paprika, soya sauce, tomato purée, balsamic vinegar and breadcrumbs. The recipe says you should cut the garlic with a micoplane grater. I didn’t have one of those so I decided to use a razorblade like Paulie Cicero in Goodfellas (only watch the first bit of this video!).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I rolled up my little balls and popped them in the oven for 30 minutes – they came out a treat! My family really liked them too which is always a bonus. I will definitely be making these again.

This entry was posted in Meals and light bites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

